FIFA held its annual The Best Awards ceremony in Zurich on Thursday evening. Robert Lewandowski beat Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the first prize.

The Polish international was named FIFA footballer of the year after scoring 55 goals in 47 appearances for Bayern Munich.

He was top scorer in the Bundesliga, the DFB Cup and the Champions League.

2020 belongs to Robert Lewandowski

– CFSP (@CFNSP) 17 December 2020

When advertisers announced Lewandowski’s name, one of his distant competitors was literally overwhelmed with emotion.

Cristiano Ronaldo vibrates after the defeat:

– CFSP (@CFNSP) 17 December 2020

Of course, the table does not tell the whole story, because it soon became clear that Ronaldo had in fact chosen Lewandowski as his first choice for the FIFA Footballer of the Year award,

The Juventus superstar also voted Messi second and Kylian Mbappe third, while Messi himself did not respond to the compliment.

In fact FC Barcelona has chosen Neymar as player of the year, with Mbappe and Lewandowski in second and third place.

The FIFA Footballer of the Year award for Lewandowski was the first for the Polish player or the German club since it was founded in 1991.

I repeat what I said the other day. Never stop dreaming Thank you for this award, it is an incredible honor to receive this award tonight Dziękuję! #The best @FIFAcom

– Robert Lewandowski (@lewy_officially) 17 December 2020

Moreover, the winner of the match – FIFA Player of the Year, Ballon d’Or or FIFA Footballer of the Year – has not played for Barcelona or Real Madrid for eleven years (from 2009).

In fact Messi has won the prize six times since 2009, Ronaldo four times and Luka Modric once. Ronaldo also won it in 2008, but at that time he still played for Manchester United.

It is also worth mentioning that Messi and Ronaldo finished in the top three of the annual FIFA awards in 2007 (when Kaka won), an achievement that the Mercury couple have repeated 13 years in a row so far.

Speaking of which: It’s the best in the world of recovery. Fue en año 2007, cuando el brasileño fue elegido como el mejor jugador del mundo por delante de Lionel Messi y Cristiano Ronaldo . Hoy, in 2020, ¡siguen nominees!

– Club ESPN Football Argentina (@ESPNFCarg) 17 December 2020

At the gala, it was also announced that the FIFPro 2019-20 Men’s World Team would move from 2007 to today, with Messi and Ronaldo becoming the 14th men’s team. The team was elected Team of the Year for the second time in a row.

Elsewhere, Alison Manuel Neuer clubbed after the Bavarian star was elected FIFA Goalkeeper of the Year the same evening.

Fault! The file name is not specified. Game


Casey Keller of ESPN FC compares the Alisson of Liverpool with the best goalkeeper in men’s football of FIFA, Manuel Neuer.

Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joshua Kimmich, Kevin De Bruyne, Thiago Alcantara and Lewandowski were all selected for the first time at the XIth FIFPro World Championship.

Unfortunately, there was no room for Derby County center-back Curtis Davies, although the 35-year-old apparently saw his name on the team’s game sheet.

After a very difficult year in 2020, I have the honour to be included in the FIFA Best Men’s World Ranking!

After three runs last season, they even put me on my left foot #TheBest

– ℂ #33 (@TheCurtisDavies) 17 December 2020

Davies is of course Alfonso Davies, who also made his FIFPro XI debut as leftback after a phenomenal breakthrough season in Bayern.

You May Also Like

Pausing Loan Payments During Coronavirus Is Producing Uneven Results

Jim Curran. in Malvern, Dad. lost his job in March and was…

Games Inbox: What will be the next big Nintendo Switch game?

Zelda: Breath Of The Wild 2 – si cela ne sort pas…

Kailyn Lowry Reveals Stance on Ethics of Gender Selection

MTV Kailyn Lowry, a 2-year-old teenage mother, opened up about her views…

New Footage from The Conjuring 3, The Suicide Squad, The Many Saints of Newark & More Revealed

HBO Max has released a new trailer to promote this year’s film…